The After Hours GP Service

Believe it or not the purpose of this blog was to offer an insight into my day-to-day life and not to rant about anything and everything. But after last night’s episode at the after-hours GP service I have decided to take this opportunity to vent my frustration.

To cut a long story short, my mother had been ill for several days and it reached the point she could no longer sleep without being in pain. I made the relevant phone calls and she was given a slot at the clinic for 10:30 pm.

We arrived there in good time thinking we would have to wait no longer than 10 minutes to be seen, but to our amazement we were not attended to until 12:45 am. During the 2 hours and 45 minutes that followed, we saw and heard the following.

1. Ill-tempered patients hurling abuse at staff
2. Patients who had arrived after us being seen first
3. People emerging from consultations looking more disgruntled than when they went in
4. Massive queues at the various reception areas
5. Staff and patients seeming to have no idea what is expected of them

I am not sure if the situation is the same elsewhere in the UK or in other countries across the world but surely something needs to be done. The complaints of the patients at the clinic last night may not have been life-threatening but a better more fluid system can only benefit both staff and patients in the long-run. I have my own opinions about the overall state of the health service in the UK, but this is another discussion for another day!

Thanks for allowing me this one off rant. Hopefully it won’t happen again!

About Tales of Andy

My name is Andrew and I am journalist living in London. I am passionate about my work but still find time for my friends and family who mean everything to me. I am always smiling, always happy and really want this to shine through in my blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

