Metropolis 2010 Christmas Carnage

Kareoke Kings and Queens

For those Metropolis employees who attended last night’s Christmas party and made it to the office today, it must surely have been a case of the morning after the night before at Metropolis’ Croydon base this morning. I was lucky enough to have the day off thanks to some careful planning earlier in the year so I spent the first part of the morning in bed before leaving the Jurys Inn Hotel― where the party took place and I was lucky enough to have a room for the night― to grab a nice greasy fry-up.

So how did Christmas Party unfold? Did anyone get so drunk they can’t remember what happened? Were there any kisses under the mistletoe or any revellers who sneaked off for an early night? As far as I aware there was little naughty business, but one thing is certain. Everyone made the most of the free alcohol lurking around.

For several Metropolites it all started around 1:00 pm at The Ship, a regular Friday lunch-time haunt where many of us choose to toast the end of the working week. Mine was just a pint of Fosters to get me in the mood but for others it was at least a couple more.

The boys are back in town

At around 3:30pm we all made the short walk to the Jury’s Inn where the party was taking place. Most went straight to the hotel bar for a few quick drinks before the party started― not too many drinks, however, because they were not free unfortunately― while I checked into my luxurious penthouse suite which was granted to me for the night by the Metropolis hierarchy. Thankfully they recognised the fact that my long commute home would possibly feel even longer after several pint of beer, even more glasses of Jack Daniels and Coke and perhaps even a few Sambucas. All I can say is I am so glad I had the room!

After checking into my palace, penthouse, hotel room or whatever you want to call it there was enough time for a quick pint with the troops before dinner was served. My meal consisted of soup, lamb (with vegetables and potatoes etc) fruit salad and let’s not forget the wine, beer and more beer between courses. As the alcohol flowed, sounds of Christmas crackers being pulled, blowers being blown and conversations louder than they would normally be in the office, echoed around the room. One Metropolis employee, who shall remain nameless, even managed to decapitate the armrests on one of the chairs.

Girls Aloud

Once dinner was finished it was time to boogie the night away on the adjacent dance-floor. The deejay played an array of pop, hip-hop, R&B and other music genres before spicing things up a little. The winner of a dance-off to the tune of classic S-Club Seven’s Reach for the Stars would win a bottle of bubbly. It was only when the winner was announced that it became clear we had a professional dancer in the Metropolis ranks. When I mean professional I am talking about someone who has been dancing from an early age under the tutorage of those at famous London dance school Pineapple Studios. Her victory in the dance-off was a cue to strut her stuff and for a few minutes she was displaying moves which many present, including me, could only dream of being able to do. It wasn’t long, however, before she was joined on the dance-floor by yet another dance-pro in the Metropolis ranks has danced for leading sports brand Reebok. A two-way dance-off suddenly ensued spanning a couple of tracks and to say that both went of it hammer and tongs is an understatement.

Metropolites continued enjoying themselves while displaying unity and passion with their dancing to certain tunes until the clock struck 10:30 pm and it was time to stick or twist― stick meaning calling it a night and twist meaning continuing the party elsewhere. Some decided to stick while others were keen to party on for another few hours.

The plan was to head to Lloyds Bar where the deejay at our party was playing until 2:00 am but for one reason or another we never made it there and ended up in Reflex where it was Kareoke night! The walk there was eventful to say the least and saw two people, who shall once again remain nameless, transported part of the way in a shopping trolley. Thankfully I wasn’t one of them!!

All smiles

After arriving at Reflex it soon became a question of who would take the microphone first. Being the Kareoke fanatic I am, my name was soon registered with the deejay, but it appeared I was beaten to it by two ladies who went on to deliver a perfect rendition of Lady Gaga number Bad Romance with the help of some enthusiastic Metropolis employees.

It was soon time for the main event of the evening, the showstopper Andrew Pentol to take centre stage, pick up the microphone and belt out Bon Jovi classic It’s my Life. I promised to rock the place beforehand and with the help of my Metropolis buddies I duly delivered.

Before long, after some more dancing and singing, it was time for some to head home for a few hours sleep before waking up for work (not me of course as I had the day off and was sleeping in the palace remember) and others to begin the painful recovery process. I left with most of the others and after a couple of journeys to and from the hotel to the chip shop to buy food for some of those staying in the hotel― the second journey was because I put ketchup on someone’s chips when I wasn’t meant to― it was time to turn in for the night.

I am sure today has not been easy for those in attendance last night with hangovers and tiredness the order for many. But if next year’s Metropolis party can produce sumptuous cuisine, a free bar, shopping trolleys, fiercely contested dance-offs and a trip to the nearby karaoke bar or nightclub, it will surely be another night to savour.

Roll on the Metropolis 2011 Christmas party!!!!

About Tales of Andy

My name is Andrew and I am journalist living in London. I am passionate about my work but still find time for my friends and family who mean everything to me. I am always smiling, always happy and really want this to shine through in my blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

