2010: A Year in Review

It was such an honour to be one of the best men at Ben and Eli's wedding in Israel.

As I sit here still feeling the effects of some overzealous celebrations on New Year’s Eve― why I decided to mix my drinks is beyond me― I thought it was the right time to reflect on my personal highlights of 2010 and look forward to 2011.

Last year began with a trip to Israel where I was one of the best men for my friend Ben’s wedding. The experience was one I will never forget. Not only was it a massive honour to be best man but it was also great to experience a wedding abroad, especially in a country such as Israel which is close to my heart. Speaking of weddings it was also great to celebrate those of Debbie and Nick, Jocelyne and Richard and Katie and David. There may well have been others so apologies if I have missed anyone out!

There were times last year when I felt I was living out of aeroplane. I certainly travelled more than expected and particularly enjoyed a work trip to Asia in May which enabled me to take in countries such as Taiwan, South Korea and Singapore, the latter of which I have visited on a few occasions. Other work trips included short visits to Madrid, Malta, Gothenburg, Cannes and Riga, all of which went well from a personal and professional point of view. The trip to Riga where my magazine’s annual Scandinavian and Baltic Conference took place was particularly satisfying as it was there I was given the opportunity to try my hand at public speaking for the first time. Thankfully― as far as I am concerned that is― everything well and I gained a significant amount of confidence from being able to cobble together a presentation in such a short space of time after someone dropped out at the last minute.

Despite the numerous work trips I still found time for a few holidays with my friends and girlfriend― Katie I promise I will write something about you soon! Finally after all these years I made it to Las Vegas and really did have an amazing time. It was everything I expected and a whole lot more and I really hope to go back again some day. What happens in Las Vegas stays in Las Vegas so unfortunately I cannot reveal anymore as I will be in breach of contract. Other trips included a week in Italy with my special someone and a boys’ trip to Dublin at the end of the year as part of my 30th birthday celebrations.

Viva Las Vegas

Finally after all these years I made it to Las Vegas and really did have an amazing time. It was everything I expected and a whole lot more and I really hope to go back again some day. What happens in Las Vegas stays in Las Vegas so unfortunately I cannot reveal anymore as I will be in breach of contract. Other trips included a week in Italy with my special someone and a boys’ trip to Dublin at the end of the year as part of my 30th birthday celebrations.

It’s fair to say I have the travel bug at present but it seems that my behaviour varies depending on the type of trip. I am more than capable of looking after myself when travelling with work― the one exception being my fall in Kuala Lumpur a couple of years ago which resulted in an extended break in Malaysia― But when travelling with Katie and friends my brain tends to switch off and I end up doing stupid things like locking the key in the room and generally letting everyone else do whatever is needed to ensure everything runs smoothly. It is almost as if I am reluctant to take on the responsibility.

In addition to the trips abroad, weddings, nights of carnage in London and occasional purchases, I have also been saving for a house which will represent my first step on the property ladder and see me move in with my special someone. At 30 years old it is simply unacceptable to still be living at home so the strategy has been simple. Go out, have fun and travel etc but make sure the required amount is saved each month.

Visting Taiwan was a great experience

So what are my hopes and dreams for 2011? The plan is to continue living life to the full which will almost inevitably involve travelling and spending quality time with friends, family and loved ones. But the ultimate goal is to move in with my partner and become a little more independent.

I look at what I have achieved in life up to now and to be honest I am fairly satisfied. Taking the first step on the property ladder in 2011 will be the icing on the cake and possibly act as a catalyst for bigger and more significant things to come.

Happy New Year and I hope all your dreams and wishes come true in the year ahead.

About Tales of Andy

My name is Andrew and I am journalist living in London. I am passionate about my work but still find time for my friends and family who mean everything to me. I am always smiling, always happy and really want this to shine through in my blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

