A Knockout Blow

It’s funny how a few drinks and a slip of the tongue can remind you of something you were trying to forget.

It was last Friday after several drinks when my friend Naomi made it clear she knew about something she was not supposed to. The source was obvious. It was her long-term boyfriend and good friend of mine Paul Windsor who did the damage. He told me he would not tell anyone but I guess it must have simply slipped out!

Around a month or so ago I went to the Post Office near where I work in Croydon with the intention of delivering a package containing a Sony PlayStation 2 which I had sold on Ebay. After collecting my ticket I stood in the corner with Paul and waited for the ticket number to flash up on the screen which would be my cue to approach the designated cashier.

While we were, waiting a customer appeared to lose her temper with a member of staff. No doubt annoyed at the long wait she began hurling an array of obscenities at the staff member. Her verbal attack seemed to go on for ages and her antics caught the attention of most people in the Post Office. She was so loud it would have been difficult for people to turn a blind eye even if they wanted to.

I remember muttering something under my breath to Paul along the lines of; “Maybe if she shut her mouth things would be more orderly.” It was never my intention to say this to her face, but unfortunately she heard me and subsequently lost the plot. I can’t remember exactly what she said but I recall her swearing and telling me that I should keep my comments to myself and that her boyfriend would kill me.

The crazy women eventually left the Post Office and after waiting another 10 minutes and realising there were still numerous people in front of me we decided to leave.

As we were walking back to the office and reflecting on what happened, I suddenly felt a blow to my head. It was the mad women from the Post Office. She had found me almost certainly by coincidence― unless she waited outside and followed us when we left― and was determined to vent her anger. The blow was followed by more obscenities which I never responded to and the whole incident was over in a flash.

To be honest I was shocked by what had happened but immediately laughed it off and put it down to experience. It was only a few hours later when I started to feel sick and lethargic that I realised how hard she must have hit me.

The fact I did not even get to send the package annoyed me more than the blow to the head and abuse. But in future I will not mutter anything under my breath in a public place especially in Croydon where it seems there are some crazy people seeking any excuse to cause trouble.

About Tales of Andy

My name is Andrew and I am journalist living in London. I am passionate about my work but still find time for my friends and family who mean everything to me. I am always smiling, always happy and really want this to shine through in my blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

