Ciao Milano

Wonderful view of Lake Como

Several years ago I spent a weekend in Milan with some friends. But it was so long ago I could hardly remember what the city was like. It was great to be back there the weekend before last to do a little bit of work, spend time with new and existing friends and visit another Italian city, Como, just a 30-minute drive away.

Last year part of my 30th birthday celebrations involved a trip to Dublin where I met some people from Italy. Since then we have kept in touch and the weekend before last we were re-united. It was only ever going to be a short trip so I woke up at the crack of dawn to catch a 6:30 am flight from Stansted. Once I arrived in Milan I took a bus to the city centre, walked around and met the others, including one of my best friends’ from London; a certain Mr Benjamin Fineberg who was already in town, at around 1:00 pm.

We all had a lovely afternoon walking around the Duomo area of Milan, seeing the sights, eating pizza, drinking Café

More amazing scenery

Macchiato and in my case feeling somewhat tipsy after a shot of Limoncello. After downing the shot I remember being distracted by some of the “local female talent” walking in the bar. Of course I am ashamed of this as I am devoted to my “special someone” but I am also ashamed of the fact that one of the people I was sitting with actually spotted me!

In the evening we all went for dinner with a couple of my work friends. Usually I am frightened to have pasta or spaghetti when out with friends or contacts as I am worried about it going everywhere. But on this occasion I did quite well even if I do say so myself!

After a brief walk along the Curso Como, one of the main roads in Milan, it was time to turn in for the night. After all, I had been up since 3:45 am that morning and was running on empty.

The following morning after a nice long lay-in and a traditional Italian breakfast― which unfortunately for me did not consist of eggs, sausages and chips which I have become accustomed to on my travels― it was time to grab a bite to eat near my friend’s university before heading to Como.

New Friends

Getting there was no problem, but we drove around a long time looking for a place to park! After finally parking we met up with some more people who showed us around the old city of Como. The place was beautiful and the views of the lake were stunning. We then found to a place to sit down for aperitivos, otherwise known as afternoon drinks (usually of an alcoholic nature) and snacks before dinner. My drink was so strong I was half cut by the time it came to dinner and my second pizza of the trip.

After dinner it was time to hit the dance floor and show the people of Como what they had been missing. Before showing off my moves a drink was in order and I ended up with a beer Stein which was almost as big as me. After somehow managing to get through that and knocking back a lethal shot, the name or content of which I have no clue, I am pleased to confirm I was officially gone for the night!

I don’t remember much of the 40-minute car journey back to Milan as I was fast asleep but I certainly have fond memories of a fun night.

After a good night’s sleep and a nice Tagliatelle for lunch it was time to head to the airport for the flight home.

A great weekend in Italy had come to an end but the good thing is that it won’t be long before I am back again!

About Tales of Andy

My name is Andrew and I am journalist living in London. I am passionate about my work but still find time for my friends and family who mean everything to me. I am always smiling, always happy and really want this to shine through in my blog.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

